My Heart is Dead if I Have No Concern

Surveys have shown that most Christians think of their faith only in terms of “Jesus and me.” Love for the lost, concerns for the evils of society, the plight of the poor, the pervasive trap of illiteracy for 2/3 of all people, the injustices of racism and materialism are all too often deemed the social causes of “bleeding heart” liberals.

Yet to know Christ as God intends, I must realize that without concern for the plight of all persons, my heart deadens to the Word of God for me. Jesus said that whatever we do for the least of his people, we do for him (Matthew 25:40). I cannot dishonor him by shunning or disregarding any of his people, and at the same time believe that my heart will still fully experience his.

Leave a Reply

