I LIKE BEING IN CONTROL!

I like being in control. PERIOD. I want things to happen according to MY wishes and timetable. When things don’t go MY way then I’m most likely to demonstrate a volatile temper, disappointment, frustration, or worse, apathy.

Oswald Chambers correctly observed,

Our Lord never asks us to decide for Him; he asks us to yield to Him–a very different matter.

Acceptance means learning to trust God more.

Vance Havner put it this way,

Prayer may not get us what we want, but it will teach us to want what we need.

Dear Lord, let me focus on my blessings, not my sorrows. Give me the wisdom to be thankful for the gifts that I do have, and not bitterness about the things I don’t.

Leave a Reply

