A Key to Successful Leadership: Continuous Personal Change

When we experience failure in leadership, it is natural to blame some factor that is outside of our control. I have seldom heard anyone say, “The change I tried to make in our organization (or church) didn’t happen because I failed to model the change process for everyone. I failed to reinvent myself.  It was a failure on my part.”

One key to successful leadership is continuous personal change. Personal change is a reflection of our inner growth and empowerment. Empowered leaders are the only ones who can induce real change. They can forcefully communicate at a level beyond telling.  By having the courage to change themselves, they model the behavior they are asking of others.

Leave a Reply

