Guest Post (Reagan Lynn): #ShoutYourBirth

I wake up every morning grateful for the life I have. I am especially grateful to have been born into such a time when I, as a woman, have the ability to do anything a man can do. But on that note, I find it despicable that the feminist movement has become what it is. I have never felt inferior to men in my life. I was raised with a strong mind and have never felt threatened. I go home and am treated equally to my brothers. I go to school and am treated equally to my male peers. Never once have I considered that perhaps I’m not treated equally until…

…”modern feminism” was introduced to me. Reading into feminism, I began to feel that I wasn’t treated right. “We are not paid the same!” “Men are more respected!” Yada yada. Looking back I realize that I only felt weaker when I was told I was weaker. I felt inferior only when I was told I was inferior.That’s the result of the modern feminist movement’s victimization mentality. I felt this way until I saw Carly Fiorina articulate that women are the majority, that we are important, that we aren’t victims; which is what the liberal feminist movement led me to believe.

I am grateful to have the parents I have. Parents who valued my life, despite whether or not the timing was right, or whether or not they could afford to have me. I am speaking up because #shoutyourabortion doesn’t tell the whole story. Those telling their stories have a voice, they have a life. And while they can speak for themselves, the fetus or unborn baby cannot. They can’t celebrate their birth, while others celebrate their death. As a woman I understand why people are pro-choice, but to me, the “my body” argument does not justify killing a life. Why is it that society shutters when we hear of a puppy being killed, yet do not respond to the genocide occurring in our own country, our own states, our own cities. I will not stand by while “welcomed births” are celebrated and “unplanned births” are not. I will #shoutmybirth because #shoutyourabortion is only one side of the equation, the side that silenced the other. Please, shout with me for the sake of the unborn. Join me in thanking our parents for valuing us.

Leave a Reply

