An Opportunity to be a part of something Bigger than Yourself

Anytime we go out and share the gospel, share our faith, invite someone to church, do you know that we’re participating in something bigger than us? Salvation is a lot bigger than me and you. It’s partnering with a God who works and says that salvation belongs to him in the first place. So whenever we go out and share our faith, we’re a part of something bigger than ourselves. That ties into one of our core values at FCC that I like to shorten to found people find people.

I like that Jesus never hid his agenda. Mark 1:14-18, “After John was put in prison, Jesus went into Galilee, proclaiming the good news of God.” Could the world not use some good news right now? I don’t know about you but I just don’t watch the news much. Doesn’t matter if you’re a CNN or Fox news or local channel fan. If I watch the news tonight for 2 hr.s I won’t want to read my Bible. I’ll want to go to SAM’s and stock up on water, canned goods, and a shotgun because the end of the world is near. But Jesus declared the good news. That’s why I like talking about the good news, about hope. God sent Jesus Christ to die for my sins so that I could be made right with him. God loved me that much. We get enough hell from the world that we should come to worship to get some hope.

So Jesus declared the good news. What’s the good news? You can be forgiven for your sins and made right with God, have abundant life now, and eternal life with God. That’s good news. Why in the world would we want to hold that message in?

Back to Mark 1, “The time has come,” he said. “The K. of God has come near. Repent and believe the good news!” As Jesus walked beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “And I will send you out to fish for people.”

Jesus said that the natural by-product of following him would be concern for the people that he came to die for. He said that if we follow him, we’ll fish. Don’t miss this: followers fish.

I’ve had people say, “I’m not that concerned about lost peopled.” Then you’re not following Jesus as closely as you should. Jesus said that if we follow him then we’ll fish for people.

Jesus said in Luke 24:46-48, “This is what is written: The Messiah will suffer and rise from the dead on the third day, and repentance for the forgiveness of sins will be preached in his name to all nations.” That’s awesome. Repentance and forgiveness of sins. We can turn from our sins, be forgiven, we have Jesus Christ in our lives and it will be preached to all nations. We’re here today because somebody took that seriously. He continues, “You are witnesses of these things.” That word “witnesses” in the Greek is where we get our word “martyr.”

I know it’s not easy sharing Christ. But listen, don’t tell me you love somebody if you don’t know where they’ll be spending eternity. There are friends and family that you know you need to share the gospel with. They are going to step into eternity some day. What are you waiting for? If you knew that your close friend or family member that doesn’t know Christ was going to die a year from today, would we just pray for them? Wouldn’t you find a way to have that conversation about what Jesus has done for you? I hope so. And here’s the thing: we don’t know when that day will be. We need to act with some sense of urgency. The best way to say, “I love you,” is to tell someone that God loves them. Somebody cared enough for us to make sure that we heard the good news. It’s not a secret to keep but a solution to share. Following Christ and being the Church, the Body of Christ, is bigger than yourself.

Leave a Reply

