A Confession Built out of Brokenness and Restoration

Sometimes I’ve heard Christians share their testimony how God saved them from their sins and they get real specific, graphic and shocking in their description of what they’ve done. It sounded as if they were boasting more about what they did than what God delivered them from.

Augustine’s Confessions aren’t like that. He writes, “I must now carry my thoughts back to the abominable things I did in those days, the sins of the flesh which defiled my soul. I do this, my God, not because I love those sins, but so I may love you. For love of your love I shall retrace my wicked ways. The memory is bitter, but it will help me to savour your sweetness, the sweetness that does not deceive but brings real joy and never fails.”

Augustine’s confession of sin is built out of brokenness and restoration. He tells of his sin not to enjoy them but to show the depths out of which God has delivered him.

That I may look back with sober reflection at my sin in order to rejoice in my Savior’s work! If we cannot see our sin as it really is, a black eye on God Himself, we’ll have no need to turn to a Savior.

Leave a Reply

