Why I’m Not a Fan of the “I’m Not Perfect, Just Forgiven” Bumper Sticker

You’ve seen them…more than once.  “I’M NOT PERFECT, JUST FORGIVEN.”  Gives me a bad taste in my mouth.  Theologically, it’s not problematic.  Realistically, it’s 100% accurate.

So maybe I’m reading between the lines but it sounds like, “Hey, don’t get mad at me if I screw up because God’s on my side and I’m forgiven so who gives a hell!”  I come to this conclusion because cars with that bumper sticker tend to cut me off in traffic or refuse to let me in when I’m stuck in the other lane.

Am I perfect?  NO!  Am I forgiven?  YES!  But I don’t hide behind that statement to EXCUSE behavior.  I believe Jesus is my LORD and Savior so I think my behavior should be different (and better) than everyone else’s.  I think His death and resurrection should make a difference in the HERE AND NOW, not just in eternity.  So I’m not perfect, but I should be different.

5 thoughts on “Why I’m Not a Fan of the “I’m Not Perfect, Just Forgiven” Bumper Sticker

  1. I’m not a fan of bumper stickers in general either, but when the above mentioned bumper sticker came out I got one and put it on the back of my car. I wanted to tell the world I was a Christian, and knowing it was there made me stop and think before I let another driver anger me. It was a simple way to witness to other drivers hoping my kindness would carry over to their driving.

Leave a Reply

