Holiday Blues

Every year I get this way for a day to a week where I just don’t have the Christmas spirit.  It takes me a day or more to figure out my problem.  It’s source is my grief from those who are no longer here to celebrate.

So I was reading and found Exodus 15:26.  In English it says, “…for I am the Lord, who heals you.”  The Hebrew there is Jehovah-Rapha.

That was my mom’s favorite title for God while she was sick.  She liked to think of God this way during her illness.  He played a big part in her during that time, but she still died.  Then again, in Heaven she’s been totally restored, healed.  He still is Jehovah-Rapha.  I like to think about that, that she’s not sick AND she’ll have a new body.

Do you ever get “down” during the holidays?  How do you “snap out of it?”  Or don’t you?  How can I pray for you?

3 thoughts on “Holiday Blues

  1. I too am having trouble getting on board with the Christmas Spirit. Especially this year I just can’t imagine it being the same without my Grandaddy. The bible verse helps and I know he is in a better place too and pray and know he would wish us a great Christmas. The entire family is struggling and I hope and pray we can come together for my Nanny who needs us. I need to count my blessings and be thankful instead of mourning the unfortunate things that have happened this year.

  2. My grandfather died five years ago today. Christmases since then have been a reminder that he’s not here, but I thank God for the many wonderful times we shared. I was lucky to grow up right next door to my grandparents. I know he is in Heaven but it is still hard sometimes when I think about how much I want him here with us.
    On another note, I made a couple of careless mistakes this week that will end up costing us a few hundred bucks. Like we have it to spare right now! I have been beating myself up over it, but my husband has been wonderfully forgiving.
    I guess just pray for me to let go of my guilt and grief and breathe in the spirit of Christmas.

  3. Marcus I am going to pray for you! I hope as Christmas draws near God will give you wonderful memories and opportunities that will lift your heart to joy and peace!

Leave a Reply

