I Believe! But Help me Overcome My Unbelief

20So they brought him. When the spirit saw Jesus, it immediately threw the boy into a convulsion. He fell to the ground and rolled around, foaming at the mouth.

21 Jesus asked the boy’s father, “How long has he been like this?”

“From childhood,” he answered. 22 “It has often thrown him into fire or water to kill him. But if you can do anything, take pity on us and help us.”

23 “‘If you can’?” said Jesus. “Everything is possible for one who believes.”

24 Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”  Mark 9:20-24

This man’s cry is echoed in the heart of every Christian.  Who has not felt it?  “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”  In order to come to Jesus we must have SOME level of faith.  But so often it is weak and insufficient for the task before us.  We need Jesus to rise in our hearts and supply the faith we lack.

So “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” is a common prayer in my life.  And Jesus answers.

Leave a Reply

