Why Do We Recite The Lord’s Prayer?

No, seriously, why?  I’d love to hear your answer.  Because I can’t think of a single good one off the top of my head.

Overhearing Jesus pray moved one of his disciples to ask, “Lord, teach us to pray.” It’s unlikely Jesus intended to teach them (or us) a rote prayer since he had just said, “When you pray, don’t babble on and on as people of other religions do. They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again (Matthew 6:7).”

His answer was more than a sample formula prayer. He was teaching them powerful, effective principles for praying.

4 thoughts on “Why Do We Recite The Lord’s Prayer?

  1. I recite it because it centers me. My prayers can become self centered or a list of needs. Reciting the Lord’s prayer reminds me to look at a bigger picture. The way I face each situation can either declare “God’s Kingdom Come” or my own kingdom. The Lord’s prayer serves to keep me grounded in the eternal potential of every moment. But that is just me.

  2. I agree.. it centers me. It covers really everything necessary, like a big umbrella; all my petty problems are covered underneath. He gave me a new day, it is His will to be done, He gives me all I need for each day, I need to forgive and treat others as I want to be treated, He will never tempt me but always deliver, He is the Glory… Those are the words I need to remember.

Leave a Reply

