…And God Granted His Request

Bruce Wilkinson made “The Prayer of Jabez” popular.  Here it is from 1 Chronicles 4:10:

Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.” And God granted his request.

Despite the criticism his book received, the prayer itself is a good model.  Jabez asked for 4 things:

  1. “Oh, that you would bless me.”  God DOES want to bless us and HAS.
  2. “Enlarge my territory.”  This isn’t a greedy desire on Jabez’ part for material prosperity.  People who pray with wrong motives don’t get “yes” answers.  Ultimately, it means for us to get free from whatever is limiting us.
  3. “Let your hand be with me.”  God’s hand represents His strength and readiness to act on our behalf.  This is the prayer of a humble person who knows he can’t do it in their own strength.
  4. “Keep me from harm.”  The greatest source of harm is Satan.  This then is somewhat a parallel to “Lead us not into temptation.”

…And God granted his request.

Leave a Reply

