Optimism and Resilience

Optimism and resilience in the face of adversity is the greatest long-term predictor of success for individuals and organizations.  Most of what people describe as failure in their lives is a function of withholding commitment.  Optimists perform better at work, school, and athletics.

Ronald Reagan was an optimist and followed the pessimist Carter.  The same could be said of Clinton following Bush.  Bush was so morose while Clinton exhibited enthusiasm for the future.  Churches with optimists outgive and show more faith than ones full of pessimists.

I definitely lean toward optimism though I have my low moments.  It’s much easier to be an optimist as a Christian because we know He loves us in all circumstances and that one day Heaven will be our destination.

In the face of misfortune or bad news pessimists focus on the negative and then take it personally (“It’s all my fault!”), assume it’s permanent (“It will never change!”) and consider its influence pervasive (“It will totally ruin my life!”).

Are you an optimist or pessimist?  Why?

4 thoughts on “Optimism and Resilience

  1. I’m like you. I like to think I’m mostly an optimist, but I definitely have moments of weakness. I do believe optimists perform better and succeed more often.

  2. I like to think of myself as an optimist but in these challenging financial times, it is getting harder. Heather directed me this way and it’s always nice to meet another blogger:)

Leave a Reply

