8 Wishes on My 43rd Birthday

People ask, “What do you want for your birthday?”  So here’s a few things that I’ve come up with…

  1. I really want to know Christ better, to hear His voice clearer than I’ve EVER heard it before.  To KNOW what it is like to be completely filled with and consumed with the Holy Spirit and follow Him with abandon!
  2. That I will be the best husband on the planet, that I will pursue Jennifer for the rest of my life, that I will do all that I can to make her feel beautiful and special, that I will honor the vows I took on June 27, 1992 and NEVER allow the church or anything else to replace her as the love of my life.
  3. That I will be an amazing father to Reagan, Micah, and Aidan…the kind of dad that after they move away and have families of their own, that they’ll WANT to come back and spend time with me.  I want to model for them what it means to follow Jesus.
  4. To continue to lead FCC where more people are giving their lives to Christ.  I want to see what can happen in a church when people are COMPLETELY sold out to Him, refuse to play it safe and do ANYTHING SHORT OF SIN to reach people for Christ. This is the area that concerns me most right now because that was my focus of my sabbatical.  I can do my job but I need the WHOLE church AND ultimately the Holy Spirit.  So may God grant me the gifts and wisdom to do my best.
  5. To be a friend that loves, trusts, forgives, and believes the best about people, even people I disagree with and for some reason “don’t like.”  I don’t want to a complainer.
  6. To be a great leader worth following–one that refuses to use people, be manipulated by fear and/or throw my integrity away because I want anything more than honoring Christ.
  7. To write a book. Oh…this is the one that haunts me the second most on here.  I’ve got part of it written with ideas galore but how did I do it and not sacrifice anything above?  Pray that I would “find more time.”
  8. To obey God’s voice and live for His praise rather than giving in to the voices of mere humans who want something different than God.  I want to please God, not man.
Leave a Reply

