7 Reasons Why I Like/Dislike Going to Church Camp

7 Reasons why I dislike going to church camp:

  1. I prefer my bed in my home, sleeping next to my wife.
  2. Some of the kids smell.
  3. The food can be not to my liking.
  4. I don’t get enough sleep.
  5. Sharing community restrooms and showers.
  6. I have to follow a camp schedule.
  7. I’m a Type A and kids don’t usually follow the script.

7 Reasons why I like going to church camp:

  1. It forces me out of my comfort zone and no where does Jesus say, “Please stay in your bed with your preferred foods with people who don’t smell.”
  2. Get to see lives changed!  People come to know Christ and that changes their eternal destiny!
  3. Get to be a part of the “A-Ha” moments for children “getting it” for the first time.
  4. Building relationships that last a lifetime.
  5. Don’t have to cook for a week.
  6. Growing spiritually myself: “I don’t have to be in control when God’s better at it!”
  7. Bring home a new song for congregational worship.

So if you haven’t chaperoned or counseled at a church camp yet, what are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

