How Obedience Works

One of my favorite stories is in Daniel 3…you know…Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego get thrown in the furnace for not bowing down to King Nebuchadnezzar.  I loved that story particularly in college where I felt like I needed to avoid bowing down to the idols of sex and alcohol.  I didn’t want to “stand out” and look “un-cool.”  But I wanted to obey God.  So, I did.  Did I fit in the crowd?  No.  Did I want to?  Yes.  But in the furnace when I felt like I had no friends, other people appeared in the furnace with me.  It turns out they refused to bow, too.  That’s when I became friends with other Christians who lived out their faith even more than I did.  And because of them I’m in the ministry today.  I’ve lost touch with most of them now.  But thanks to their obedience (and the Holy Spirit’s help in my own obedience) I feel like I’m one of the most blessed people in the world.  I could care less if I’m “cool” now because I’ve got a wife and 3 kids who think I am.

What have you learned from obedience?

2 thoughts on “How Obedience Works

  1. I like the last line about the wife and kids. That’s awesome. You could have also said, ” and two neighbors” with that.

    This compliment brought to you buy…

Leave a Reply

